Senator Franken Helps Introduce Legislation to Raise Minimum Wage

Legislation Would Increase Federal Minimum Wage to $12 Per Hour by 2020 and Boost Wages for Nearly 38 Million Americans WASHINGTON, D.C. [04/30/15]—Today, U.S. Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) joined 32 of his Senate colleagues in introducing a bill to raise the minimum wage to $12 by 2020 to help more families make ends meet, expand economic opportunity, and help build an economy that works for the middle class and those aspiring to join the middle class. The Raise the Wage Act, originally sponsored by Sen. Patty Murray (D-Wash.), would also phase out the federal $2.13 tipped wage and index the minimum wage to median wages.“The minimum wage is all about making sure that work pays,” said Sen. Franken, a member of the Senate Labor Committee and the newly named top Democrat on the Employment and Workplace Safety Subcommittee. “If you work hard, and take responsibility, you should be able to put a roof over your head and provide a decent life for your children. But it’s been too long since the federal minimum wage kept that promise to America’s workers. I’m fighting to make the economy work for middle-class families and those aspiring to join the middle class--that means raising the minimum wage. This is something we’ve got to fight for.”Senate supporters of the Raise the Wage Act: Sens. Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Harry Reid (D-Nev.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N. Mex.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Jack Reed (D-R.Ii), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tom Udall (D-N. Mex.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.).